How do I get certain instruments to play?

I recently purchased Dorico Pro 3.5, and have found the program largely intuitive and easy to learn the basics of, but I do have one problem.

Many instruments, I’m not sure quite how many, don’t have the playback feature. I am using a program called note performer along with the application, and of the limited instruments I’ve tested so far, woodwinds and bowed strings don’t seem to work, though piano, Celeste, synth bass and ukulele do work fine. I’ve been going of sight singing, which is absolutely fine, but I’d love to experience the playback this program apparently offers. I’m relatively new to digital notation, so there might well be some obvious issue I’ve overlooked. My device has sufficient random access memory and windows type to run the program, if that is relevant.

After some more fiddling, I’ve found out that saxophones do indeed work, as do vocals and electronic instruments

Hi Daniel! Welcome to the forum!
The instruments supported by NotePerformer are listed in the documentation. And they do playback, when you apply the playback template. Make sure you’re running the latest Dorico (3.5.12 iirc) and the latest NotePerformer (3.3.2?)
If you still have problems, post a cut-down version of your file and we’ll try to help you with it!

It says its dorico 3.5.10, is that too old?

You should update to the latest, because bugs were resolved. It might make a difference on what you’re experiencing (and I’m definitively not!). I find it strange it’s 3.5.10 if you’ve purchased it recently. IIRC, 3.5.12.1066 is out since february 15th 2021…

I got it about 2 weeks ago, if I can figure out how ill post a screenshot

Have you been using NotePerformer before your bought Dorico (like with Sibelius or Finale)? In that case, you might need to re-install it because it needs to install specific things to run fine in Dorico.

I bought it the same day as dorico, and had previously been handwriting music when I needed too.