How do I set up a string section with a specific number of players - condensing vs. divisi?

Hi there, this partially a Dorico question, but also might overlap with a little bit of an orchestral question as I’m still learning everything.

Here’s what I’m trying to do - I need to create an string section for a smaller-sized orchestra which is 6,6,4,4,2. Initially in setup mode when I went to add the Violins I chose to build ensembles and wanted to add 6 Violin I players, but this wasn’t really an option – so I had to add 6 Violins each time. This resulted in ultimately 12 solo violin players, which I then manually added into separate groups (6 each in Groups labelled Violins I and Violins II, respectively). In page view, this won’t condense when I select condensing – so I figure I’ve set that up wrong and this isn’t the correct way to go about it?

Then alternatively I followed some of the great Dorico YT tutorials and created an Ensemble based on ‘String Section.’ This is great in appearance to how I want it overall (like most scores), but how do I specify how many players for each, in the cases I need to do divisi and write separate lines? Or in the case I wish to have one of the Violin I’s do a solo? Is that not done by condensing at all?

Is it even technically necessary to specify how many players there are, provided I write accordingly (I figure the orchestra would handle divisi writing as necessary as long as they are written realistically for 6 players using just the Violin sections as an example?). Forgive me as this is in part a general orchestration question and might be a bit of a daft question - again I’m still learning and largely self-taught.

TLDR; Just wondering how to get going with writing a score with a string section - do I add each individual player (solo) and find a way to condense that, or do I just write as a string section and if so do I need to spell out the number players in the setup?

Thank you!