How do you know if your song is mixed right

And don’t tell me to use my ears. My ears are fine. I have 50 years old music listening experience going for me. I know what sounds “good.” I can listen to one of my mixes in 10 different systems and it sounds good. Yet if I listen to it against a reference track from a “pro” it may sound like garbage. My snare is way too thin. Or my kick is way too punchy. I use my ears but I also use meters. I even use Ozone tonal balance, which tells me my mix is well within the parameters of a high quality mix. I’ve got the LUFS dialed in. The mix is loud enough. Yet it’s still sounds like garbage. And don’t say it’s garbage in garbage out because I don’t make garbage and my recording equipment is high quality as are the instruments I’m using. My arrangements are not anything crazy. I just can’t seem to balance everything together. I eq, I pan, I compress, I don’t over compress, I don’t over limit, I’m not squashing the life out of the dynamics. Yet the thing still sounds …… amateur next to commercial music. So wtf am I doing wrong ?? :face_with_spiral_eyes::woozy_face::crazy_face:

Well nobody can answer that based on a text description - so maybe link to an example or two.

That said, here are some generic possible answers

• It sounds better than you think & you are being hyper-critical of yourself
  • Your acoustic listening environment is messing things up
  • Comparing apples & oranges - is one song mastered and the other not
  • Arranging issues, e.g. sounds masking each other, unbalanced frequency distribution
  • Sloppy or over quantized performances
  • Uninteresting composition