How to download and use the PDF version of the Operation Manual

As a newbie, I have found the main documentation to be very well done. However, I do have difficulty navigating within it.

I notice that some applications, for example Affinity Photo, have a fixed table of contents panel on the left of the help document, so that one can easily jump back and forth between the text and the table of contents.

In Dorico, I must first find the desired entry in the Index or Table of Contents, which requires looking through many pages, and then if the entry I go to is not what I am looking for, the back arrow doesn’t take me back to where I was, so that I have to start the process all over again. This grows wearisome and one begins to resort to Google searches as mentioned above. Perhaps there is a better way that I am missing?

I did wonder about the necessity for explanations of basic terms, as if the software were designed for someone with no previous knowledge of music. In one case, the definition is not quite correct: “Grace notes are notes without a fixed duration, which are intended to be played quickly.”

And since the document seems to be divided into two main parts, I think that this and the organization of the Notation Reference section could be shown more clearly in the Table of Contents.

2 Likes

Where are you accessing the manual, as the online webhelp or in a PDF?

Either way, you should find that there is a TOC on the left of the webhelp once you’re viewing any page (e.g. here), and likewise for PDFs, although its visibility depends on showing it in the app you’re using. The left-TOC has disclosure arrows that let you expand sub-topics.

You should also find that pages have links at the bottom to related pages; if something has been alluded to but without much detail, there’s a good chance that detail is on a separate page and is linked at the bottom.