How to Fade Quickly in Nuendo like Pro Tools?

Hi Nuendo users,

I have a question and I am not sure if it is an actual feature in Nuendo. I am new to Nuendo and I come from Logic Pro and a little Pro Tools background. I like how those DAWs handle fading/cross fading quickly using interactive tools depending where the mouse is hovering or key pressed and is able to reshape the fade interactive in the timeline. Is there something like this in Nuendo? The best I can find is using the hotkey “X” to make the fade and then dive into the Fade window to stretch the cross fade longer for example. To me, this seems not a very fast fading way between audio clips compared to the fade tools found in Pro Tools - very slow. I want to use Nuendo for dialogue editing, but I am not sure if there is a faster way to fade clips especially in post production. If somehow this is not a feature in Nuendo, I would love to see this so that I could speed up my audio editing process and not bounce between other DAWs as much.

1 Like

It does not work like other DAWs and I agree it needs some work.
I would recommend looking into the manual for the new keyboard shortcuts (which you can re-assign easily to your needs) to allow for quicker editing of dialogue. The recent update brought some nice improvements.
Regarding fade curves I don’t like the way it is working now (with a pop up window that you have to close with a mouse click). That needs to close with the same keyboard shortcut I would expect, but it doesn’t.

A video tutorial by a Steinberg developer/user would be great on this topic!

Thanks Klfnk2020 for the tips! Not a bad idea finding or mapping out hotkeys to speedup the workflow. Yeah, the pop up window in the biggest issue I have in editing audio for fast editing.