How to not record rhythm pattern into MIDI track in Cubase 9.5?

Hello everyone,

I have recently set up my Yamaha MX88 to work with Cubase 9.5. I’m completely new to production and so all of this looks very complicated to me. I believe I’ve downloaded and set everything up correctly to record MIDI as when I try to record a MIDI track, I can playback the information I entered through the Yamaha MX88 in Cubase. However, every time I hit record for a new MIDI track, it plays the rhythm pattern into the MIDI track when I only want to record the notes I’m playing in whatever voice I’m playing it in (i.e. organ, bass, etc.).

Simply put, I just want to record the notes I’m playing from my Yamaha MX88 into Cubase sweet and simple, and nothing more. I don’t want there to automatically be some kind of rhythm pattern in the back when I hit record on the new MIDI track.

Is there an easy solution for this? Most tutorials I’ve watched on Youtube skip over this simple step for recording and go much deeper into production so I’m stuck here, unable to record anything without a pre-recorded track from the MX88 butting into the recording.

Thanks in advance for all the help. I’m trying to figure this out ASAP so I can start making some music!!

It sounds like your MIDI track must be assigned to an instrument such as Groove Agent SE. If that is the case, then that or any similar plugin might be playing back a pattern. Without knowing how you are set up it’s just guesswork of course.

if this is the case, look for a way to stop the pattern from playing, or remove it from the plugin. In the case of Groove Agent SE for example, there is a button (top left). It says “Follow Transport”. This should be grey, if it’s orange in colour Groove Agent will play its pattern when Cubase Transport is in play. Each plugin has its own way of doing this, it might be called “Autoplay”.

…not sure if Parrotspain is correct or not (maybe!)