How to record multiple MIDI tracks in Cubase Elements 9.5?

Hello,

I am completely new to Cubase and have connected my MX88 to Cubase. I believe I installed all the necessary items for it to work.

The main issue I have when recording MIDI is that the tracks take the MIDI data but will always switch to whatever sound I click on the keyboard, instead of saving the recorded sound within the MIDI track. As in, I can record MIDI data in a sound like “grand piano” but can play it back, switch to a bass sound on the keyboard mid-playback and it won’t stay as “grand piano”.

Thus, I’m having trouble “saving” the MIDI data with the sounds I used to record them initially.

How do you properly record multiple MIDI tracks in Cubase Elements 9.5?

Hi,

Sorry, I’m not sure I understand your questions completely.

To record to multiple MIDI tracks at the same time, just enable the Record on the multiple tracks and hit record. All MIDI data is recorded to all MIDI tracks then. In Cubase Pro you can use some filtering (Input Transformer) to filter only MIDI Channel 1 data to track 1, MIDI Channel 2 data track 2, etc., if needed. This is not possible in Cubase Elements.

Or do you mean to have a multiple tracks recorded already? And then you switch among them? Then the Program Change is received by Cubase?

My apologies for being unclear and thanks for the quick response. I am able to record multiple MIDI tracks in Cubase Elements at the same time (the MIDI data is recorded), but not in the voices I recorded them with from the keyboard.