How to solo FX channels?

I’m new to Cubase coming from another DAW, where to solo an FX channel you just clicked on solo on that FX channel.

In Cubase, soloing the FX channel also solos any channels with sends going to it, so my question is; how can I solo an FX channel without also soloing the channels that are sending to it?

Or alternatively if there is a different way it has to be done, how can I hear FX channels in isolation?

The best way is to set up the Control Room (CR). Once you set up CR, you’ll get an “L” on each Channel in the MixConsole. This Listen bus will give you a true, console-style solo bus!

Open the CR mixer, though, and turn down the Listen attenuation from -20 to -∞ for it to act like a true solo.

Thanks for your reply, but can you offer any guidance on how I set up the CR in order to achieve this?

In CR setup I have a monitor channel connected to my main stereo output (in addition to my main output being set to my main stereo output), but when using listen on the FX channel I want to hear in isolation the original signal is still present.

Make sure the output is disconnected in the normal Output tab of VST Connections. Sometimes that causes weirdness.

And you turned down the Listen Bus attenuation all the way on CR Mixer?

If I disconnect my main output how am I supposed to hear the anything outwith using the listen function? I don’t want to have have to go through this setup process every time I want to solo my FX. I have tried it though, but it didn’t help, and just doubled the volume.

Where is the Listen Bus attenuation? The only volume control I can see is the under control room is the main CR level:

Or is that what you mean?

take a deep breath then Demystifying The Control Room In Cubase - Part 1 - YouTube

This isn’t something you’d do each time just to have your solo, this would be a permanent change over to using CR… So that Listen is always available. I made the switch for this very reason.