How to use a template object and keep it for next block?

Hi,
absolute noob to C++ and VST3 here.

I want to create a “library” (separate .h file) which contains only one template class for the types of double and float.
For simplicitys sake I’ll provide pseudo code.

audioOP.h
template
class audioOP
{
public:
audioOP()
{
some code
}
~audioOP()
{
some code
}
void setSize(T size_to_set)
{
sizevar = size_to_set;
}
private:
T sizevar;
};

now in processor.cpp, I include my audioOP.h
then, how do I go about declaring a pointer to that object so I can use the object in any method / function of the processor.cpp?

my current approach is to do:
in processor.h protected:
audioOP* audioOPF;
audioOP* audioOPD;
in processor.cpp setupProcessing after testing whether channel layout has been accepted successfully:
audioOPF = new audioOP();
audioOPD = new audioOP();

And then in the processAudio lambda, each time I want to use that object, I have to do a switch case to select the right one.

I’ve been googling the past days but I couldn’t find a good way to do this.
Vitrual member functions (base+derived) appear to have a performance penalty so we can’t use it in the audio path.
Also it appears the type has to be known for the virtual declarations in the base already so that doesn’t improve anything.

Basically what I want is to ONCE determine which variant (double, float) is needed to process this block and then store a pointer to the right object pointer (audioOPF / audioOPD).
And since I want to create my audioOP objects only once to hold their member values and I won’t know ahead of time whether processAudio will be called on 64bit or 32bit audio that pointer needs to be “typeless” / “generic”.
But how do I do that?

Or is there a more elegant way of doing this?