I can't load DEO scale

Hi folks,
I have been using Dorico for a short time but the musical approach is so well thought out that I am considering not using Sibelius any more. I am still learning the software with all the questions that go with it.
I am still learning the software with all the questions that go with it. I have three problems to which I cannot find the solution:

• I want to insert a microtonal system and I can’t manage to do it even though I follow the instructions carefully
  • I want to put frames (drawing type) of music with different tempo and hide the staves of the instruments concerned but I can’t find a way to do it
  • I sometimes have a huge latency when I insert a double bar or a rehersal letter. In general the software is very slow. I have to say that I am working on a full orchestral score.
    Many questions I know…
    Congratulations again on the design of Dorico which is truly the future of music writing.

Welcome to the forum, Laurent! For the first issue, the trick is to, in this order:

1. select a note or rest where you want the tonality system to begin
  2. select the tonality system itself from the right-hand panel
  3. add a key signature defined in that system (most likely open, but it can be changed later)

If you don’t add a key sig right at that point, the choice of tonality system doesn’t stick.

Thank you very much for your answer.
Unfortunately I have tried to do as you explain but it doesn’t work.
To be more complete in my explanation of the problem (and this has a link with the armouring) I am in a tonal system but I just want to insert 1/4 tones to distort a chord without changing what is in the key

I think Mark’s instructions still apply. Just select your normal key signature when fixing the tonality system. Your whole piece can be in 24-EDO and will still be ‘tonal’ if you don’t apply any 1/4 tone accidentals. What’s more, you can hide your distortions in the score by simply hiding the accidentals!

1 Like