I'm LOVING the new D5!

Maybe it’s just taken me a long time to start to “get it,” but wow, I’m blown away at how awesome D5 is!

This has probably been in Dorico for ages, but I just discovered Shift + B, then -2 to delete a couple bars (or +2 to add a couple).

BRILLIANT!!!

And the new ability to apply dynamics to lots of parts at once is just astonishing and wonderful!

As long as I’ve used Dorico, I’m still a total newbie (Sib dropout). I’m finally warming up to this magnificent achievement.

What times we live in!

Mike

PS HATS OFF to Daniel and his tireless kindness and amazing support, and to the entire Dorico Team!!!

5 Likes

Yes… :grin::relieved::wink:

2 Likes

This release is an interesting one, while as substantial as any it doesn’t have quite the splash feeling of earlier ones, which introduced large fundamental improvements like the key editor or condensing. But on thinking on it a few days I’ve come to see that while not obvious it is as big a change as the others.

Putting aside a pile of tweaks and additions, the main focus here is playback. I think this is a continuation of last year which was the key editor, a necessary step to world class notation playback. Now we’re in the final part of that which is the VST side. So we see the introduction of a new popover which is the MIDI trigger region (oddly bound to ‘)’ or Shift-0), I’m not sure of a memory aid there). We also get the VST (MIDI) drag-drop functionality (e.g. Drum Agent patterns), and not least the Live stage and Live Space.

Finally there’s the humanization - in the blog Daniel said this would continue to improve in updates. Clearly the team has a new development model which is for really large features, release the architecture basis in the mainline release, and then build on that the rest of the year in updates. I think by the end of the year we’ll be blown away by the automatic humanizing.