Importing LPs/Cassettes

Hello everyone;

I am new to Wavelab 7, and the forum, and am afraid I am a bit overwhelmed.

My initial project is simply to import LPs and cassettes into Wavelab,
split them into individual tracks, and burn to CD and/or MP3.

However, I am a bit lost as to how to go about doing this.

Is Wavelab perhaps overkill? Would I be better off with Protools or Garage Band for this?

Any direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

• Joe

WL is definitely the weapon of choice for this sort of thing IMHO.

Have you already bought Wavelab? If not you should look at Wavelab Elements, which will almost certainly provide far more features than you will ever need for your purpose.

And you might not even need that depending on your level of ambition in terms of restoration, the quality of your audio setup (turntable, pre-amp, audio interface , etc), and critically the amount of time you can devote to your task.

@plutoC: I bought Wavelab 6 for PC a while back, and wound up never using it.
I now use a Mac, and have downloaded the trial version of Wavelab 7.

The tapes are mostly live concert bootlegs, so the recording quality is not great to begin with.
I’d rather prioritize ease of use.

Thanks;

• Joe

@Rat: Is this best done within the Audio Montage section?

Thanks;

• Joe

Hi Joe …

Only just saw your post.

Well, I guess we all have different ways of working.

The only time I touch cassettes personally is where the client has no other viable master sources.

FWIW, an efficient way of doing these things is to set up your cassette player … first properly cleaning the heads and running a test tape through for a short while to make sure it doesn’t eat the client’s master … and then setting the appropriate gain levels through your capture path.

Then, record into WL.