Install Cubase 10 Pro on "OS" SSD or not?

Hi guys,

I’m quite a newbie (i’m studying to become a producer) and installing Cubase for the first time and I’d like to do it the right way.
I purchased CB 9.5 Pro EDU, but i’m in the grace period so I will be installing Cubase 10 Pro. :slight_smile:

Now my question is:

I have 3 disks in my computer:
A) SSD (250 gb) with OS/Programs on it (60 Gb left)
B) SSD (500 gb) still empty (500 Gb left)
C) normal HD (1 Tb) with 500 Gb left (for my projects etc.)

Should I install Cubase with all of its components (grooveagent, halion, etc. etc., around 21 Gb I think) on A or B?

Or should I install Cubase on A (OS SSD) and all the other components on B? But then the question rises: will Cubase react normally having Cubase on A and all the other components on a other disk (in this situation: SSD B)? Cause it’s not the standard setting…

I’m planning to install lots of VSTi’s. If I plan to put Cubase and all of its components on A, i remember there will be a VST folder on SSD A as well… Is this the only VST folder which Cubase ‘sees’? Or can I add another VST folder with all my VSTi’s (on B)?

I hope this makes sense to anyone.

In short: should I install all of Cubase on SSD A (with OS but limited space left), or just go to SSD B and install all of Cubase and all of my VSTi’s etc. there? :unamused:

Thanks a lot!!

Windows likes applications in the Programs directories on the C\ (or boot) drive so, while you could probably make it work, your life will be a lot simpler if you just go ahead and install on the boot drive. The program requirements for 9.5 indicate 18 gigs of HD, which leaves you with 42 gigs. That’s getting kind of tight. You can install 3rd party VSTi’s and fx anywhere you want–you can tell Cubase where to find these things from within the program (multiple folders and any drive). The 18 gigs should include the OEM instruments and fx.