installing sx

i have been using cubase vst for over 10 years now,i have just bought a secondhand copy of the original first edition of sx with license and dongle.
I will be wanting to use it rewired to Reason(need to save up and update that as well).
What i need to know is ,is it best to uninstall my old version of cubase vst before installing sx?
Will i still be able to use the vsti’s and effects i have installed in cubase vst.
Will be running sx through my Terratec DMX6 soundcard,i presume this should be ok with sx?

Any help and advice would be much appreciated.
thanks.

am running on windows xp home edition
AMD-2ghz
1gb RAM.

Having never used SX1 myself, but have used VST 5/32 for several years. I’m going to just guess…I believe you need to contact Steinberg and get your Cubase VST license put on a USB dongle to play along with SX together in the same machine. SX uses a USB dongle I’m assuming…? I don’t believe you need to uninstall your VST version 1st. I’ve never heard of anyone using the old (blue for VST 5/32) LTP dongle with a USB dongle together and working myself. My buddy has VST 5/32 & SX3, but they’re installed on different computers.

But hey, if you have both versions, you can make use of both on two machines for an inexpensive powerful combination of resources. And if you have VST 5/32 with the last update, you’ll have VST System Link to sync them together. Not your question, just pointing out a capability if interested.

thanks for the info,forgot about system link,sx uses a usb dongle i believe,not the sam eas the printer port dongles that came with vst,also i read somewhere that they can’t transfer info from the red dongle to the usb,it has to be the blue dongle,not 100 per cent on that.
found 2 articles,one from sound on sound who tested this very first edition of sx on a pc with cubase vst on it as well and it worked fine.hoping all goes well when sx arrives in post and can get to grips with it.