Intel i7-980X Extreme Edition 3.33GHz Six-Core ???

I am getting close to taking the plunge and replacing my 2 year old DAW CPU (Two 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon E5430 {for a total of 8 cores}) for the new insanely powerful Intel Core i7-980X Extreme Edition 3.33GHz Six-Core Processor. Do you think I would notice a significant upgrade? I need moor CPU power and do not want to use 2 PC’s.

Thanks!

Core i7 is much faster; new Mac Pro is a good investment.

I’m sticking with a PC, though. No offense to MACs, but I’ve been using a PC for 20 years now (after retiring my old Atari ST) and I have absolutely no desire to switch platforms.

I use a 980x and it is tremendous. It’s also stable as all get out. I run it over-clocked to 4.25 (actually had it up to 4.62), and it runs absolutely rock solid.

I still would like to know, though, if it will get me a lot more noticeable CPU performance over my current CPU setup (Two 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon E5430 {for a total of 8 cores}). If i can get some verification that if will give me significantly more performance it will be worth to me spending the $1000 for it. I NEED MORE POWER! :slight_smile:

Check this:
http://www.adkproaudio.com/benchmarks.cfm

Cheers,
Bernard

If you want to go download the main dsp project from that link, I can tell you what I get on the multi band test. Remember, I’m significantly OCed. Which, is very easy with the 980x.

Using the Cubendo-DSP-C5 project, with samples at 252 (5.7 ms) on my Aurora, I am able to use all 40x6 tracks of the multi-band compressor test. I have quite a bit of breathing room left too. Again, rock solid stable. At about 75% on the ASIO meter.

Made it to 50 x 6 Multiband Compressors. 90% Usage … No overloads.

by the way, if you manage to get all 240 instances running and you start duplicating a Sine track to add more load, make sure you convert the event to a real clip on each duplicated track. Otherwise your not adding load.

Hello