Intermittent drum output from HALionOne

Hi all,

Newbie here. My problem is that I only can hear drum sounds intermittently when played live. The MIDI signal is fine, it records the MIDI notes fine, it plays back the proper sounds fine - it’s only when playing live on the drum machine that the audio comes in bits & pieces, even while it’s recording the right notes.
I’m running LE5 with a SR-16 and an IO4 interface. Seems to me like a problem with the HALion instrument, since it’s reading my inputs & recording the notes fine. It’s tough recording it when I can’t hear what I’m playing. If I strike a pad 10 times, I may hear 2 or 3 notes, at different volumes, even though the SR-16 has a fixed velocity maxed out and the recorded velocity is high too.

Highly unlikely. Seems more of an audio interface setting issue (causing dropouts).

Are you using the ASIO4All driver?

What are your buffer settings set at?

That recorded velocity is the same data being sent to HalionOne.

My buffer setting is at 512. I am using ASIO4ALL. The MIDI message is being received by the program every time, according to the MIDI in indicator. But when the audio is not being heard, there is also no level shown on the instrument track display. So I got a consistent MIDI in, consistent record, and inconsistent audio level shown on the instrument track only while playing MIDI live. The audio is fine once I’ve recorded the MIDI. I can put on a programmed rhythm, record the whole thing fine, but during recording I only hear a beat here and there.

Been like this forever. Some kit has a setting that will cure it, some don’t.

tj: Can’t you just record everything right in the Alesis SR-16 first – then
send the finished drums via Midi to Cubase Le5 to an Instrument or midi track set to record mode? :question:

Jack :smiley: :smiley:

PS: tj: — I use a few dedicated Drum Programs – Toontrack Superior drummer 2.0 is one.
I just connect a midi cord from the out of MY DRUM MACHINES – or my keyboard,