Is it worth it to upgrade my scanning software?

I’ve been using scanscore as a sheet music scanner for a few months now, and I love it. I export from scanscore to dorico to edit. They’ve released a new version (https://scan-score.com/en/2019/11/21/scanscore-2-is-available/) and I was wondering if anyone has any thoughts on if its worth it to upgrade. It says it recognizes chord names and lyrics now, which sounds great. Drop your opinions below if you have them!

Are you on commission? You’ve made the same posts about this software in several different music forums.

https://www.finaleforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=18409

It seems to be Windows only, so no good for me.

I trust this forum more than anyone. Is anyone successfully using any scanning software? If so, which ones?

Daniel Spreadbury recently recommended Play Score 2, which is an iOS/Android app, and I’ve found it pretty good for reasonably basic stuff (think Haydn string quartets). I ran some early 20th-century song cycles through it with more limited success; it’s not quite so great at handling piano grand staves with multiple voices per stave.

Here are some points I passed on to a client when trying to set him up with a workflow that involved PlayScore 2:

1. It’s best if you untick everything in Dorico > Preferences (Cmd+,) > MusicXML Import. I’ve left “Text” turned on (the very last item on the list) but I find that text quite often needs re-inputting.
  2. Dynamics, particularly hairpins, go awry and sometimes get attached to the wrong place. Often quickest to delete and reinput.
  3. Playing Techniques (basically upbow/downbow/pizz./arco and I guess the retake symbols) won’t import.
  4. Occasionally PlayScore can get really confused and rhythmically offset everything by a tiny rhythmic value. Two strategies:
    a) work out what the offset is and where it happens, then use Insert mode to fix.