Is my interface too old and inexpensive?

Hi, it’s a dumb question, sorry:

Are older drivers/interfaces more likely to have worse audio than newer ones?

Similarly, is audio quality one of the main things that separates an inexpensive interface from an expensive one?

I’m just wondering how long in the tooth my UR28M is getting, and whether buying a newer, more upscale interface would be worth it.

I’m hearing an odd mechanical aspect to tracked vocals … made me think about this as a potential issue.

Thanks!

List some potential replacements you’ve been considering.

imo, you would hear zero difference unless you bought something like an axr4t or high priced rme unit.

Ok, thanks @anon4 and @steve . Based on your kind responses, I’ll focus on other causes for what seems like tonal oddities in tracked vocals (mic, headphones … cables?).

But just for my info (I’m a weekend warrior hobbyist, but i still like to know about these things if possible) … Do newer interfaces, or more expensive ones, significantly affect the accuracy of AD/DA conversion enough to be audible (compared to an older but reasonable mid- budget one like my 7 year old UR28M)?

Or is the point of uber-expensive drivers mainly just to affect how small the buffer can get before drop outs, not the actually sound quality?

Thanks!

This topic has been covered in countless places. I suggest a visit to Gearspace.com if you want more info.

Thanks, @anon4 . I have been looking elsewhere, I appreciate that suggestion. For example, this SOS article addresses this a bit, but not definitively: How To Choose An Audio Interface

Looking at gearspace also, thanks for the heads up, but I’m not as confident the quality of the responses there would be as good as what folks here might offer.

I can live without knowing the answers to my questions, lack of that knowledge is not the limiting factor to the quality of the music I create! :smile:

I still use a Fireface 800. I have it since 2005.