Is there a way to change instrument names in the score?

I have an English Horn, which is in F. The instrument name is simply that, ‘English Horn’, but the score insists on showing ‘English Horn in F’ on the first line, and ‘F English Horn’ on the following.
How does one change or disable this automatic name editing?

Could you attach the project here? It should be the case that English horn is set to never show its transposition, so I need to take a look at the data from the file. (You’re not a beta tester in disguise who had access to a pre-release version of the software, are you?)

Not a beta tester. I wish I had been! I’ve been using the online software Noteflight for a good 6 years, and I don’t think they’ve gotten more bug reports from anyone else…

Here’s the file.

You can’t attach the file directly: please zip it up into an archive. If it’s still larger than 2MB when zipped up, please send it to me by email at d dot spreadbury at steinberg dot de.

Here it is:
Prayer of St. Francis.dorico.zip (722 KB)

Dorico files are themselves zip files, but the forum won’t accept files with .dorico extensions, so you have to zip them up (or you could change the file extension to .zip, but don’t do that!).

I’ve been looking at this for the last 20 minutes or so and I really can’t figure out why you’re getting a transposition for English Horn, except that perhaps you’ve edited the instrument’s short name to be empty, and that might be confusing matters.

I didn’t intentionally edit the instrument’s short name to empty and, forgive my ignorance, where can I find this option? In Setup Mode, when I right-click on a player and click rename, there’s only one text field.

That is indeed the player’s name, but if you expand the arrow next to the player’s name you will see the instrument held by the player, and you can then click the little chevron > next to the instrument’s name to get at the Edit Names dialog.

Wonderful! Thanks very much.