is your WIN DAW Online? UPDATE: POLL ADDED

Is your DAW online?

• DAW offline 24/7
  • DAW online 24/7 w/highly conservative web use (audio stuff only etc)
  • DAW both online and offline (i.e. offline when recording)
  • DAW online 24/7 and doing anything and everything with that computer
  • NO antivirus
  • Windows/MS antivirus
  • 3rd Party antivirus

0 voters

I’ve been using Cubase since 1999 and my DAW has always been off line. I’ve always done updates etc via a USB stick. My DAW has (almost) always been problem free and clean and fast (Windows). I only do Audio related stuff on my DAW. But now I’m seeing a need to go online with my DAW, easy updates for products, buying plugins and even stuff like subscriptions (Slate). Do any of you WIN guys have your DAW online? and if so what (if anything) do you use for virus protection? thanks for your time.

UPDATE: hey guys, thanks for all of the replies, this is all great to read. I’ve added a poll with options for online and virus protection. A vote for each. Again, thank you for your time.

I have a small home studio for personal use (not making my living with this setup). It has always been connected to the web. I use this same PC for everything at home. No problem at all. Several years ago I changed to the free Microsoft Security Essentials for my antivirus. Again, never had an issue. My son even uses this PC to look at whatever he looks at. I do back up every week to an external drive that I keep disconnected until I want to do the back up. This year I made about 40 projects. Each one having 15 to 20 tracks of stuff. No video.

If I was trying to make a living with this set up I would definitely have a separate PC for it. But I would still have it connected to the web.

Good luck :wink:

Regards :sunglasses:

Thanks for the reply PRock, thats great to hear. ADK , who built my computer, recommended the Microsoft essentials as well. What did you used to use for your virus protection before that?