Jazz Notation - The Default

I’m a student learning big band arranging and read this article which suggests arrangements vary (in terms of expression, playing technique and ornamentation) based on the target audience. Here, Tim Davies puts forth a “jazz default” which is intended to greatly simplify the score on the basis that players will use specific techniques in the absence of contrary indication.

This resonated with me, but then I began to question how to get Dorico to “honor” such a default. I understand that swing playback style is generally possible, but can I further refine or create my own playback style to include the 7 elements listed by Tim in his article?

I understand your intention, but, I mean, a big point of Tim’s blog post was precisely that you shouldn’t fall back on the playback of a notation software, but rather understand the music’s performance practice.

I don’t think Dorico offers any controls to shape playback out of the box (none of the major softwares do); NotePerformer eventually does a better job because its main innovation — so, no small feat — was trying to supply that overcoding based on context, but it’s not really geared towards jazz.

Keep learning your horn. Play as much as you can. Keep listening. Get your hands on some charts (although, if you’ve done the other three enough, it isn’t even strictly necessary).

This is why I am asking, I recognize I have been over notating and am now correcting scores to match performance practice. Doing so, however, comes at the cost of either sacrificing Dorico playback or spending a lot of extra time using hidden playback triggers or editing in a DAW. I guess what I am asking is:

• is it possible to tell Dorico that a given piece should be played by XYZ Persona (aka, Jazz Default)