Keeping text blocks from full score in instrumental parts

Hello.

I have just completed quite a large music theatre piece. I wishing now to make the parts. The problem I have is that there are text block layouts in the full score that I’d like to maintain in the parts layout. Is this possible?

thank you

If you added them as text frames, they won’t be available in parts (as by default, “scores” and “parts” use separate page template sets).

You could recreate the text frames on the relevant page templates for the Default Part page template set?

If you added the text frames directly only individual pages, those will be treated as page overrides, independent of the underlying page templates.

Depending on where they should be placed, I sometimes find it best to add these as text above the staff. (Staff-attached)

2 Likes

Dear Lillie Harris

thank you for your response. Ok I’ll reflect on this. I’m still quite new to Dorico so not totally up to speed on page templates. but I’m guessing a bit of time invested might save me time in the long term

thanks

Steve

Can you post a screenshot of one of them?

Thanks Dan

crumbs this forum is so helpful.

This idea will work for some of it, but some of the text blocks are quite large

thank you

Steve

sure

here is a screen shot of my problem

Oh yes, here I’d definitely recommend creating this as a custom page template – as it’s a standalone page, you can create it once, then transfer it to the other page template set so both score and parts have access to it.

I’ll pop some links below to help you work with page templates (this first link has a video embedded on it which might provide a nice introduction)

Then here’s how to get the template onto a specific page:

And transfer it from the score set into the parts set, or vice versa:

2 Likes

oh blimey Lillie I am beginning to get it, I can see hopefully how it could be very useful.

thanks

steve

1 Like