Key Signatures: Insufficient Documentation

I’m new to Dorico. I’ve used Finale for 20+ years on desk- and laptops, but I want to be able to also work on my iPad. I expected a steep learning curve at the beginning but I’m disappointed with what is available in the user manual and the forums to answer questions about how to do basic things.

For example, the section on key signatures tells me what a key signature is, but there are no instructions on how to set or change a key signature. Am I missing something?

Yes. Check Related Links at the bottom of any manual page. As explained here, some pages just explain what something is, and others describe how to do something.

The search within the documentation is also very useful: https://steinberg.help/dorico_pro/v4/en/search.html?searchQuery=key+signature

You might also benefit from our First Steps guide that’s tailored to new users, which is a step-by-step walkthrough of creating a short piano piece and includes adding key signatures.

I hope that as you get familiar with how Steinberg manuals are structured, you find it of use when using Dorico. You can always share feedback here, and in particular I’m interested in hearing if any particular search terms don’t bring up useful results, as one thing that I can do is add relevant keywords or indeed related links to topics to aid the manual’s overall usability.

2 Likes

Thank you Ben and Lily for these responses.