Keystation 88es driver not showing up in Cubase 6

So recently I wanted to try composing some songs so I invested in Cubase 6 along with a Keystation 88es for sequencing. I am totally new to this so if something here seems weird or doesn’t make sense please correct me because my understanding of this process is minimal at best.

I formatted my computer, installed Windows 7 64-bit, installed Cubase 64-bit, and then installed the M-audio USB driver 5.0.1 in that order. Everything seemed OK.

Unfortunately when I go into Cubase and go to Device Setup, I can only see the default ASIO drivers that come with Cubase (“ASIO DirectX Full Duplex Driver” and “Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver”). I checked Device Manager and the M-audio driver is there and installed without any issues.

Now if I use one of these default drivers, for example the “Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver” I can get my Keystation to work with Cubase. But the latency is too high (~20 ms) and it makes recording anything very unnatural. I was expecting to see an M-Audio driver in the list that way I could perhaps decrease the buffer size to get the latency down or perhaps setup a direct monitoring of some kind.

What should I do? Should there be an M-audio driver that I can setup Cubase to use? Is there some way to set up direct monitoring to reduce the latency I hear when recording? Am I even asking the right questions?

Any help would be appreciated.

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.5 gHz
RAM: 4.00 GB
Software: Cubase 6
Keyboard: M-Audio Keystation 88es

The keystation is only a controller there is no audio interface built into it.
Only midi (commands, not sounds inside the keyboard that need to get into cubase via audio).
You need a sound card for audio in/out. The computer either came with one or you bought a better one that you either installed inside or is external in a rack or sitting ontop of your desk somewhere.