Latency MIDI notes (but not audio)

Hello there,

I’ve just purchased Cubase 11 and found out that my midi notes were recorded before the beat… I know people having this issue and I tried to fix this but didn’t find a way to do so…

I changed le buffer size, use different VSTs, add “Asio compensation” and all but none of that got rid of the issue.

My setup : M-Audio Keystation 49MK3 + Focusrite 2i2 scarlett 3rd gen… That’s all ! I’ve only got this issue on cubase ! Does anyone know how to fix it it’s really annoying…?

Thanks in advance !!

Hi and welcome on the forum,

Please read thru this article.

There is a serious issue with midi timing. In cubase 10.5…
A disaster if you are writing music cues from a midi keyboard.
I’ve been using cubase for over 15 years, and midi in 10.5 is the worst I have ever experienced.
I keep searching these forums to see if someone has addressed this issue .
Maybe part of the disconnect is that if you are playing only live instruments, or pads, it’s not a problem. But once you are doing something that involves playing piano , fast string lines, drum parts from keyboard. Virtual instruments…you will feel the frustration.
Considering setting up old win 7/ win 10 computer,. And working on cubase 5 …which is sharp as a tack. When I strike a key…there it is. Fast runs…? No problem…and even better…when I play the midi back, it’s EXACTLY where I played it…instead of sounding and looking like a yard sale.

If anyone is experiencing this midi lag, midi early , midi garbage, please chime in with experience or answers.

Actually, I’m experiencing the same problem.
This is screenshot of live audio and MIDI recorded at the same time (playing 8th notes at 100bpm):

See that the latency varies.

Settings:

I’m using Cubase 10.5.30.
This is indeed a very serious issue.

Can you take your buffer size down further? From 256 to maybe 128?

Thanks.
Blain

This is with 128 samples: