LE 6 to AI7

First of all, what is the difference between LE and AI. I could not find the answer to this with a google search. If they are the same, why do they have different names. I bought a NI audio interface that came with LE6. I have used it a little and have thought about upgrading to Elements. but I am seriously looking at the Yamaha MX 61 keyboard and it comes with AI7. So what is difference between LE and AI, and what will happen to my LE 6 if I put AI7 on. Do I need to delete LE6. Does it just integrate (blend in) with LE6. will I have problems with “competing” DAWS. I am quite new to this so I appreciate your help and patients Thanks.

Hello Dksucharda,

Cubase LE and AI are both OEM (Original Equipment Manufacture) versions of our software. The differences between just LE and AI are subtle, and the most common difference is the LE is packaged with 3rd party hardware companies, such as (Native Instruments, ZOOM, Focusrite etc) and AI is only packaged with either Steinberg or Yamaha hardware. There are a few differences between version numbers like LE or AI 6 or LE/AI 7 in that ver. 7 contains a new Mix Console view and ways to view the Mix Console vs the older style Mix Console found in previous version of LE/AI. As long as your operating system is compatible with both you, for instance Windows 7. Both LE6 and AI7 can coexist on the same computer with no issue. You can open your LE6 .cpr project files in AI7 but an AI7 .cpr will not open in LE6. I hope this brings a little clarity to the question. Please let me know if you need further explanation.

Joel,