Less is more, what is still missing in 8.5

Hi all,
i’m an old veteran of Wavelab since early PC days. I make a living with professional mastering so i spent most of my time on several mastering platforms. Today i updated an old Wavelab release i had on a PC to the latest 8.5 and installed it on a 8 core NMP just for curiosity and wishing in something new. With no much surprise i found a quite same look i was remembering with some new stuff under the hood but i think i’m still missing the point. I see tons of technology in this software but it lacks of obvious and basic functions absolutely needed in a professional environment. When i see every kind of metering, smart bypass, encoding simulation, LUFS etc. i think developers had professionals in their mind. But for a studio integration today WL is still missing basic routing capabilities implemented in any other SW out there quite saying that we should stay ITB. I need a simple and clear routing to join the software to the studio. A source track should be sent to multiple destinations like a DAC for external processing and another DAC for direct dry monitoring. We need also to feed a reference tune to a monitor controller simultaneously for instant ABing while tweaking parameters. That should happen in the stereo montage, without using a fake surround setup. I would like to choose manually which tracks to send at the master and which simply at a DAC without processing. Alternately will be useful the ASIO loop as insert to a track and not only in the master section. I think is simple stuff that will make the difference. Hope to see something like that in the 9.0 release.

Davide

I also have some ideas about how to make routing and other things within WaveLab better.