Mac finder

I’m fairly new to wavelab. As a mac user I find the save dialog in wavelab nearly impossible to use.
Finding the directory I want to save in amongst my large file system using a diretory tree style navigation takes a significant amount of time and a memory I simply don’t posses :grinning:. Is there a way to use the mac finder to save files or montages? If I can just use the mac finder to find the directory I want, I’m then happy to return to the wavelab path dialog.
Thanks

I’m with you. My brain cannot work with the native WaveLab File Browser. If you enable this setting, you’ll get the normal Mac file window for opening/saving files:

1 Like

Amazing thank you again!

No problem. I also use this app which makes it even faster to get the native MacOS browser to a more ideal place:

https://www.stclairsoft.com/DefaultFolderX/

With one shortcut, it makes it very fast to get to your most recently accessed folder. It’s one of those apps I didn’t think I needed but once you have it, it’s hard to be without if you like to work fast.

Yes I use DefaultFolderX as well, I could’t stand to work without it at this point. :grinning: I can’t believe apple haven’t built some of these things into the finder by now. Love the currently open folders function and the ability to click on any open window to go there, so much faster and less brain work than navigating directory trees!

Yeah, DefaultFolderX is essential now. Hopefully the other setting will help WaveLab feel more Mac-like.

One thing I do like about WaveLab that is not very Mac-like is that in the Render Ribbon Tab, you can manually edit certain characters of the file/folder path and if that folder doesn’t exist yet, it will be created by WaveLab.

For me, that makes it handy when I already have a folder structure in place, but want to change the rendered folder from say 2496 to 1644. It’s a very fast way to do it compared to manually making the folder first in the Mac Finder, or the pop-up MacOS window.