Mackie Control Universal Mk1?

Hi,

I am completely new to controllers. Did not even know they existed.
I currently run Cubase LE4 on an older G4 with a trackball. Not the best and I don’t think the G4 will be up to it. Don’t have room for a mouse with the way my gear is set up. Do have room to put a controller to the LH end of the ASR-10 though.
I am still in a huge learning curve at the moment.
I have an opportunity to buy the above controller in as new condition. (AUD $1,000) Is this unreasonable with the price of some newer controllers?
What I am wondering is if I upgrade my studio MAC and update Cubase to Elements 10, will the controller still be able to talk to Cubase?
I have tried to find details on both the Mackie and Steinberg websites, but can’t find much.

I don’t think I have asked enough questions.

Thanks,
Michael.

I can’t speak for compatibility, but the Mackie units seem to be pretty good build quality. I’ve worked fairly extensively on one in one studio and it’s been pretty sturdy. I’m not 100% in love with the protocol compared to Eucon (for Pro Tools) but if you want a sturdy controller it’s an option.

Some people have complained about build quality of the cheaper units, primarily Behringer X-Touch and Presonus Faderport 8 and 16. I can’t comment on the units since I haven’t used them, but I’ll just say that the experience can vary for sure.

Another option is an Avid Artist mix on sale. Then you get the Eucon protocol - if your version of Cubase supports it. I prefer that protocol for automating levels and I prefer the unit because of its small footprint.

But anyway, definitely make sure you know which controller protocols are supported by the version of Cubase you choose.