maddening ASIO glitching

A few weeks ago, I made the leap from Cubase LE/5 to Cubase 8. I tend to use a lot of VSTs, and in Cubase 8, I am having a lot of glitching when I use ASIO4ALL, and moreso, my recording interface’s ASIO drivers, when I am playing back my music. I’ve frozen all of my VST tracks, moved the buffer size around, activated/deactived ASIO guard, but none of the aforementioned alleviate the constant glitching! I cannot record any vocals because the playback sputters and it’s incredibly distracting. Even though I only have 8 GB of ram, I still have 2 to 3 gigs free when I am recording. I am about to pull my hair out! Is there anything else I can do to get rid of the glitching that plagues my DAW? I am pretty new to Cubase, and the software has a really steep learning curve, so I am thinking that I must be missing something incredibly obvious. Any insight will be much appreciated!

asio4all is not replacement for a proper asio driver/interface. it can not be expected to handle multiple tracks/vsti’s.
if you want to do multitrack recordng you must obtain a dedicated asio enabled interface. you could try rendering all your vsti tracks to audio or freeze them to lighten the load on your system before you attempt to record your vocals.
in short, dont expect high level performance from a free driver and an onboard chipset that was never designed for multitrack audio recording. there are various reasonably priced interfaces sufficient for a home studio. steinberg has some great hardware these days that would certainly work well for you.

cheers and best of luck, happy recording!

With ASIO Gaurd on (on its highest setting), bump your buffer size up on your audio interface’s ASIO driver (not that ASIO4ALL hack) to its highest; 2048, or around 46ms latency, if it will go that high; 1024, or about 23ms, if it only goes that high.

With that set, now try turning off any Record Monitor buttons on any tracks that may have them on.

Is it still glitching?