Making suggestions for Cubase developement?

I guess like most software developers Steinberg most likely have a posse of experts they listen to for advice. Im only a beginner on C6.5 but it sure would be a lot more user friendly if it had an undo/redo function for changes made to the mixer, Vst-i modules especially 3rd party synths and F-X pluggins these could be grouped into separate undo buffers so you could undo/redo synth patch adjustments without effecting main page editing or mixer automation or vice versa. Wouldn’t it be great if every time you opened a synth module or a channel strip or track part you could access an undo section that only addressed that particular instance module or page you are making adjustments to :wink:

Yes, it would. Halion Sonic SE already does, of course, as do certain 3rd-party plugins but it would be a boon to have it available across the board, especially on the Mixer.

It’d be a massive step forward for todays musicians if they actually learned how to use their software in detail first rather than throwing “suggestions” at the experts after using their very complex product that takes three years to master after a week or so and they find they have to do a little amount of button-pushing for a minute or so. :astonished:
I always find it very good for performance to have to play it more than once. :mrgreen:

Am I being too hard?

No, I agree. Creating extensive undo functions can hardly be called ‘development’. I rather have Steinberg use their resources for real development of the program. Undo can be a lifesaver, but also makes one lazy…

Did any of the old “classic” audio engineers have an “undo” command when they moved a fader or knob?

Yes, actually, they did.

Called memory…

But that’s not really undo - that’s inverse do :sunglasses:

:laughing:

And here I thought it was called trial and error…