Mapping control surface faders to VST CC controls

hi there. names frank, new to the forum, first post, relatively new to cubase, not new to basic DAW workflow in general. i havent seen this subject on here so i assume it is acceptable to make this post. if this post is redundant, id greatly appreciate being directed to the right link.

Q: Can anyone explain how to go about mapping/ assigning a control surface’s sliders to cc midi controls on vst instruments? i’m an aspiring film composer and i simply want to use at least 4 faders to control the dynamics (modulation), vibrato, timerelease, expressions etc of my instruments while playing. i’m currently using a korg nanoKontrol studio and ive found its software to be very uncooperative in cubase. So, i’ll probably doe out the cash for a jl cooper fader master ES-4 or ES-8, the motorized faders will hopefully stay alligned to the level of the effect whenever i come back to said instrument. i know the vst’s i’m using have the ability to connect this way as well. So i really just want to know if anyone on here has done something at least similar to this and what route they took from start to finish/ what equipment theyre using to do so. it would be a great help.

Hi.

Goto device setup
Click remote devices
Click + sign top left
Choose generic remote
Assign midi input/output to your korg
Press apply.

Goto VST quick controls on that list
Activate “learn” box
Select/highlight Quick control 1
Move fader on korg
Repeat this for all eight quick controls (one fader per QC assignment slot- learn will stay active throughout)
Press Apply.

Exit Device setup

Select/highlight track in arranger window
Open vst on track
Click on quick controls in inspector (left side)
Press “L” button (learn)
Click on first slot and twiddle parameter on your vst.
Click on second slot and twiddle another parameter on vst.
Eat, sleep, rave, repeat until all slots are set with your choices.
Click “L” button again to leave learn mode.