Master Page settings

Hi,
I’m new to Dorico (3.5) and to this forum. I wrestled my way trough help pages and guided tours but there are still a lot of things I can’t seem to figure out.

One important item is this: I would like to have 2 systems om every page of my score. I edited the ‘Casting Off’ option (in ‘Layout Options’) to 2 systems, but this only seems to apply from page 2. The first page has only 1 spread out system. If I change Casting Off to 3 systems, the first page has 2 systems and from page there are 3. What do I do to change this behaviour?
Thanks!

Welcome to Dorico and to the forum, @kleinesteentjes!

Something tells me Dorico is not able to fit your two systems into that first page with all other settings + casting off = 2, which is why it is not doing it. When you change casting off = 3, you may be effectively forcing it to override some of these other settings…

The easiest way we can help you is if you post the project—it can be a cut-down version, just enough to produce the effect so we can investigate all your settings and hopefully provide an answer.

Welcome to the forum. This sort of thing is pretty common. You might want to check your settings in Layout Options–Vertical Spacing–Ideal Gaps. The values might be set too high. Try some lower values for spacing between systems and inside systems.

If these don’t fix it, you can use the “Make into Frame” function to force the first page to have two systems.

Is the checkbox for “Scale number of systems by frame height” activated? If so, Dorico reduces the number of systems per frame for frames smaller than the default - this is because with all the extra info often on the first page, you might comfortably fit only 8 systems in a part, whereas 9-10 easily fit on subsequent pages.