Mastering question

Hello,

I am new to mastering, and I am mastering some acoustic tracks I have recorded. The setting is two acoustic comp guitars, an upright bass, and a acoustic lead guitar.

When raising the volume of a track, making it load, I have understand people use the maximizer plugin?

I wonder, when raising the volume of the track with help of the maximizer, does the audio gets compressed?

Since this is acoustic music, I want to keep some dynamics in it. Would it be different sound-vice if I raised the volume with the master level faders in the master section instead? Or is this not a good way of raising the volume of a track?

Thanks

Just a suggestion but if you are serious about learning mastering I suggest you get this book and read it cover to cover Mastering Audio by Bob Katz - Digido.com

It will answer all your questions and get you started in the right direction.

As to normalizing tracks…it is a big no no with acoustic music.

Thanks, I actually ordered the book now.

Normalizing? Is that the same as maximizing?

But is it a better idea to raise the volume with the master level faders in the master section instead then?

Thanks

Normalizing raises the loudest peak to 0 dbfs or any specified value. It doesn’t compress the sound.

Maximizers use limiting and/or clipping to raise the apparent level. Even though the peaks are not going over 0 dbfs, the RMS value is much higher than a normalized file, thus sounding louder.
It has it’s drawbacks. Abusing a maximizer makes the sound harsh and reduces dynamics.

Thanks for that info. So normalizing is the exact same thing as raising the volume on the master fader, except that when using the normalizer you set a value that it raises the loudest peak to?