"Merge Tempo from Tapping" Needs Improvement

Well, I’ve been a Cubase/Nuendo power user for many years. It’s such a complex program that you may never know all it can do.

I’ve always missed the feature in my old Cakewalk (precursor to Sonar) where you could take a piece of audio or midi that wasn’t recorded to a click and create a midi track along side it and tap the quarter notes into that track and have the program adjust the tempo track to those notes.

I need to do this fairly often and I usually just manually adjust the tempo track to the audio (or midi). It works but is somewhat time consuming.

But yesterday I discovered that Cubase has my long lost Cakewalk feature, found in the menu MIDI/Functions/Merge Tempo from Tapping command.

I studied it in the manual, tried recording quarter notes and executing the command using the setting “1/4 Notes”. The results were unuseable. The tempo was all over the map and not following the tune at all like I played it. Then I tried the setting “bars”, where you tap one note per bar, thinking that might make the tempo smoother. The results were worse.

I freely admit that I may be doing something wrong, which is the main reason that I am posting this. If anyone has any suggestions, they would be greatly appreciated. But if these results are the best I can get from this feature then I’ll have to go back to adjusting the tempo track manually, where I achieved much better results.

A side note: I recently purchased Pro Tools (v9 Native) because it is finally native and I occasionally receive and send work to and from other studios (overall Pro Tools doesn’t hold a candle to Cubase, a huge disappointment) I do not believe it has a feature like Merge Tempo from Tapping. I recently tried adjusting the tempo track manually as I do in Cubase. The results were unusable.

I find it relatively easy.
I suppose the first mistake I made was to somehow reference the “Tapping” track. Wrong.