Microphone picking up headphone and background

Hi there

Newbie here :slight_smile:

I’m using Cubasis and Studiospares M2000 headphones and a Rode NT1-A mic which is picking up the sound from the headphones (from the whole room actually).

The headphones are new, however when I used Cubase some years ago with the same mic it didnt used to pick up everything.

Is there a setting on Cubasis I can change to correct this, or is this down to something else, eg a fault with the mic/headphones?

Many thanks for your help

Andy

Hi Andy,

Thanks for your message.

Sounds like crosstalk issues to me, which are unrelated to Cubasis.
Especially the headphone could be the problematic factor here, depending if its an open or closed design.

I’d suggest to browse the web for best tips how to avoid crosstalk when doing audio recordings.

Hope that helps.

Best wishes,
Lars

Hi Lara thanks for your note. I’ve just seen that the audio device setting in settings is set to iPad microphone how do I get it to pick up my microphone? I have a mic plugged into a presonus audio box one with a lightning cable going into my iPad

many thanks Andy

Hi Andy,

Please have a look at our available Cubasis LE tutorial clip (at around 1:50 min), to learn how to setup and perform audio recordings with external devices: https://youtu.be/j8t48FZSX60

Hope that helps!

Best,
Lars

Hi Lars

Thank you for your reply.

I’ve watched the video…I don’t think this tells me how to change the settings so audio takes from Sonus rather than Ipad micrphone

Can you help me with what I need to do so I can record vocals through the Audio device?

Thanks

Andy

It sounds like your iPad/Cubasis is not detecting the Presonus interface, it should show up and be selected by default under “Audio/Audio Device”