MIDI and VSTi Questions

Hey everyone -

I’ve been using Cubase/Nuendo for over 10 years, but in all that time, I’ve had little experience with VSTi and MIDI. The project I’m working on now is my first foray into them, and I’ve come across a few confusing and frustrating things that I’m hoping I’m just being dumb about.

Thing Number 1: Why can I hear a part I just recorded over?

This makes no sense to me - if I record a new part, it plays the old one back, too. And as far as I can tell, there’s only a way to automatically mute overlaps if you’re cycle recording, which I’m not. Now, I have a decade old workflow with audio only, so I assume I’ve overlooked an advantage to this process, but for right now, it seems rather clumsy. When the artist makes a mistake, I can’t just return to the location and start recording again - I have to pause, tell the artist to give me a minute to clean up, find a punch point, split the parts, and mute or delete the bad bit. Surely there’s a better way? Replace mode is better…ish. But then I can’t go see previous takes, the way I can with audio.

Thing Number 2: Instrument Track volume automation is being ignored

This one really feels like a bug to me - or I’ve done something foolish accidentally. I have an instrument track (not an instrument channel, mind you) with a VSTi on it (Organized Trio 3.1, if it matters). I put the track in write automation mode, and move the volume fader. The output volume changes as I move the fader. On playback, however, with the track in automation read mode (green R lit up) - nothing happens. The fader doesn’t move, the volume doesn’t change, the numbers indicating the current value for the automation do not change. Same when clicking to a new location. The volume and automation numbers stay wherever the mouse last moved the fader.

Also, it’s only the volume - not that I’ve exhaustively tried every single automation parameter. But the drawbar changes, rotator speed, etc, all work as expected.