Midi CC Automation

Hi, I am new to cubase and cannot figure out how to record cc messages while recording midi. I have touchosc controlling cc1 and 11 with faders and they effect the sound of my instrument tracks, however when I record the data isn’t recorded. What do I need to do for this to work? Thanks.

To clarify, I am getting midi input but when I record only the notes are recorded and not cc1 or 11. How do I fix this?

Are you sure they’re not being recorded?
Everything should get recorded unless something’s filtered out, but if it’s affecting your MIDI track & resultant [VST] sound, which IS being recorded, then those CC’s should be as well.

First, click on one of your recorded MIDI tracks, and then open the List Editor.
[Top menus - File: Edit: Project: Audio: > MIDI. Default is ‘L’ on the keyboard.]

The list editor lists everything in/on the track. You should see them there if they’re recorded at all.

If you close that & open the Key Editor, you may not see anything until you add it at the bottom, such as ‘Velocity’, which is usually the default one that shows up there.

If you do see ‘Velocity’, hover your mouse at the right of ‘Velocity’, and a little black down arrow should appear with the pop-up, ‘Controller Selection And Functions’.

If you click on that arrow, a menu will open.

Click ‘Create Controller Lane’.

When you do, a duplicate lane will appear, ie: ‘Velocity’ again - [or which ever one was there that you clicked beside].

Click on that duplicated CC Controller’s black down arrow at the right again, and a bigger menu appears and anything that’s got some data recorded will have an *asterisk beside it.

Choose one of those for that lane & it will switch to it.

Then you can see & edit those values - ie: expression [CC 11] or modulation.

If still nothing, then you may have some CC messages filtered out in the Preferences, [File>Preferences] that need to be clicked [or un-clicked].