MIDI cc1 cc7, midi and VI volumes on C7.5 and touchosc

Hi everybody!

I’ve got some questions to solve and, in addition, maybe somebody could help me a bit understand how CCs work.

I’ve been a self taught cubase user for many years, and work professionally on it. I’ve always found my way to do what I wanted, but now I’d like to understand a bit better because I’m a bit stuck with this.

I cannot make my Ipad control properly my cubase track’s CCs, and also my keyboard is not recording well automation over several ccs.

I’ve never used this, since I’ve always used only midi keyboards for notes, and wrote all the automation in cubase with the pencil.

First, some general thinks I might don’t have well understood.

CC7 is the controller for midi volume on each track, it goes to 0 to 127. Is it true that it’s “attached” to the volume fader of a midi track in cubase, and that when set “off” by default it means cc7=100? cc7=80?. When setting the midi track fader to 0 db, it shows midi data =80.

I’ve also noticed some plugins like kontakt seem to “attach” their volume fader to this. so, by default, kontakt opens with a volume of 0.0db, which you achieve by settung the midi fader to 80, that’s where I got my thought about last paragraph.
But others, like PLAY, won’t do it, so you gat two separate ways of controlling volume, right?

There’s also the expression cc11, which I’ve always associated to an extra “boost” to adjust slightly volumes.

So, first af all, my first concern is that when I automatize, I’m always worried that maybe not everything will sound always the same if I play for example the cue to the middle, where maybe some midi automation is in certain place, and that when I restart the cue, if CCs are not reset to that moment, volumes will be different, and that could also happen in a render. Is there a way to reset all CCs and volumes to the start point automatically?