Midi Editor (Controller Display) Newbie

Complete newbie to DAWs and home recording using LE 7 as start point.
Have managed to lay down some simple midi tracks using laptop and mouse, now experimenting with the Controller display in Midi Editor.
Velocity, pitchbend, sustain (CC64) all ok but cannot get Main Volume (CC7) to work. I believe you can do crescendo or fades etc by using the line tool to draw a linear descent/ascent of CC7 in the controller display.
I have a long recurring bass note event. I bring up the Midi Editor, go to the controller display, bring up main volume (CC7), select the line tool and draw in the descending straight line in the controller display lane from 127 down to 0. Then when I play the event the volume should fade down but doesn’t. It stays at full volume from the first instant right through.
Have I changed a setting somewhere whilst exploring (I’m a total newbie) that renders this CC7 descent/fade inoperable? The volume doesn’t change. Am I doing something wrong?
Regards,
Goose

It is important to understand that a VST instrument and specific program (or patch) must be programmed to respond to certain MIDI CC data. Which instrument and program are you using? Also, for example, in HALion Symphonic Orchestra, if I remember correctly, the “expression” (or volume) can be assigned to different CC data such as CC1 (Modulation), CC11 (Expression). Another possibility is that some instruments, on the channel or program slot level can filter out or ignore CC data like CC7 because you may choose to change the volume by automating CC7 going into the instrument or by automating the channel audio output of the instrument.
HTH
J.L.