[MIDI] Help an old audio guy learn...

Greetings,

This is a very basic question, so pardon the bandwidth here… I’m a long-time Steinberg pro audio user, but my experience with MIDI tracking has never needed to go beyond the essentials.

Is it possible to record a series of takes of a MIDI performance (say, using a VST instrument track) and have each new take appear "on top"of the previous take (or at the bottom when in Lanes view) AND ALSO mute the previous take(s) so only the current take is heard while recording each take? That is, rather than all the previous MIDI takes playing back too?

This is how recording audio has always worked in Cubase/Nuendo/etc, and I’m unclear how to get this to happen with MIDI tracking in C6. I understand that cycle recording (in MIDI) does something like this, but I’m talking about doing a series of full-band live takes (with one performer playing a VST instrument live) - not cycling a bunch of overdubs while looping between locator points. After the band finishes each take of a song, it’s irritating to have to manually go into the VSTi track and mute the previous take before we record the next one. It’s also easy to forget to do that occasionally, which blows the next take for the whole band.

Thanks in advance… I fear I’m missing something simple here.

Aj

Transport Panel…bottom left…Click on “Replace/Mix” icon

Under Midi Cycle Record Mode - Select “Stacked”

Switch on Cycle mode [by default, “/” key on Num Pad]

Now each pass of the cycle range will produce a new midi part and the track is “laned”,
ie each new pass stacks the previous recordings, and all but the last take are muted.
However, they are still stored and available for subsequent editing

Cheers

Thanks Andy, appreciate it. But…