MIDI - outboard gear (JV-1080) - access banks/patches ?

(Still) relatively new to Cubase.

I have mainly recorded audio so far, and also some soft-instruments.

Now, I’m planning to add a JV-1080 and some other modules.

Back when using Sonar, I had ‘‘instrument definitions’’ which made it very easy to connect to my JV-1000, but never tried it with Cubase yet…

Is any of you using a JV-xxxx and if so, how do you select patches / banks ?
Do you need to create a ‘‘definition’’ from scratch?
How is it done ?

Thanks,
Rob

Have a look here:

http://www.dhoop.de/

Hedshaker,

Thanks for this. However, not sure how to use this…

I saw another post where a ‘‘script builder’’ URL Roland - Support no longer works… I have never done this before either. All I know is once done, it must be placed in the right folder on the Mac.

I would love to find either one for the XV-5080, JV-90 – just realized problem is the same with the JV… Now I’m heading for a used XV 5080 but it looks like soft-synths are probably the trick all over the place now, and no manufacturer wonder about these vintage devices anymore…

On my mac; select MIDI device manager, click install device - you will get a list to add MIDI device, JV 1080 is one of them and select it and choose the right MIDIport. Create a midi track, choose the JV as the right MIDI destination. You should be able to choose from the banks and programs in the inspector. I hope this helps.

Thanks hjwinge :slight_smile:

Yep indeed, I could find some devices there - currently I have a JV-1000 (which connect well with the JV-80 script), and a DX7 II and DM5. Really cool.

However, I plan to get rid of the JV-1000 for space purpose and think of either a JV-1080 (it<s there), or a XV-5080 : this one is not there though…

Also I see there are some Yamaha mixing boards there (01v series…) - but I can<t find the 02R (nor mine: 02R v2).