MIDI Program Changes not working correctly in Cubase 9.5

Hi there,

I’ve been using Cubase for the last 20 something years. I’m using it everywhere, in the studio as well as on stage with my band. I’ve helped and installed many local and international artists on Steinberg/RME solutions, even wrote software with Steinberg’s SDK. Let’s just say I’m not a newbie! :laughing:

Recently, after MANY years of faithful services, I’ve decided to upgrade my good old Cubase 5 (32bit) to 9.5 (64bit) for my live show. My session is simple: All audio tracks (around 10 of them), no plugins on, except for Kontakt 5 which is used on a few songs for triggering custom synth sounds (again, sampled, no multi-layer, scripts or anything, kept it trivial!).

I also have a 3 MIDI tracks which controls all our MIDI devices on stage (sending MIDI Program changes ONLY) so we don’t have to bother searching for patches on stage. Everything’s automated.

Now, this setup was working perfectly with Cubase 5. My Kontakt 5 behaves like it should on MIDI program changes, our Kemper guitar amp is switching perfect too. Now, enter Cubase 9.5! Everything starts behaving strangely. Kontakt 5 program changes works most of the time, but not always. Same for the Kemper amp, it is mostly correct but sometimes, the program changes are out of whack…

Now, is it possible that Cubase 9.x has some MIDI bugs? I mean, both VSTi and external devices behaving strangely? Can’t be a coincidence? I had the same problems with Cubase 8.x which kept me on version 5 (and that is still the case, can’t depend on 9.5).

I’ve tempered with the MIDI chase settings, no changes really, Cubase 9.5 still has problems with program changes.

I am condoned to Cubase 5 32bit for eternity? I have a recent i7 laptop with 16gigs of RAM which I can’t use because 32bit is limited to 4gigs only.

Please advice, thanks in advance.