MIDI questions from a previous Sonar user

Hi There

I’ve recently bought Cubase 9 Pro as a move from Sonar X2, I’d gotten a bit sick of Sonar which seemed to be quite unstable on my computer and their video support was horrendous.

That said I really liked the MIDI features on there, as a composer I tend to work with VST’s a lot and once I’d gotten my templates set up in Cubase I started to try to work with MIDI in the same way that I used to work in Sonar, but I came up with a few problems, if anyone could answer a couple of my questions below it would be greatly appreciated.

When writing large scores in Sonar, i.e. with 50+ MIDI tracks, I generally used to open the piano roll and write in a few ideas while displaying all the tracks to a section (i.e. string section in the orchestra). In Sonar this was a simple case of hilighting the tracks and pressing Alt-3.
It seems like I can’t do that in Cubase, as I have to manually add an empty MIDI region and then double click on that MIDI region to open the piano roll. Is there no other way of doing this? i.e. some shortcut that would immediately open the piano roll? It’s pretty frustrating having to do this on 50+ tracks!

Also regarding MIDI regions, I don’t understand why it doesn’t automatically extend the region for all of the notes that I write in. I can create new notes but once it goes outside of the region that I manually created, they are muted and I have to drag the region over in order for those notes to play. This seems quite counter productive to me, as in Sonar I’d just write as many notes as I needed and they would just work straight away, regardless of where in the project they were, it would extend the region for me automatically.

Also, working with 4 screens, I’ve managed to figure out how to display my console on a seperate screen, and my piano roll on another screen, however, every time I undo something in the main project screen it would close my piano roll window. Is this a bug?