Midi Remote features exclusively for programmers

Sorry, I am a fan of Generic remote
There are many things that Midi Remote cannot do, especially when it comes to controlling the VSTi

with generic remote I can:
Send unlimited midi messages to VSTi tracks… while MR can’t “just 8 QC’s”
Can for example … send midi messages to all tracks at once so that keep them all with the same microtuning scale + transpose… While MR can’t “just send for selected track so i can’t keep all VSTi’s in the same tune”

I hope Steinberg does not stop supporting Generic remote because it is a very powerful tool for my live performance, and I am sure that many like me cannot do without it.

I recorded these two videos for my friend, maybe most of you are not interested in Microtoning, but the idea is to show what the Generic remote can do.

GGS

1 Like

Is there anyone like me interested in Generic remote?
I feel like I belong to the stone age :unamused:

1 Like

I’m not an expert when it comes to the MIDI Remote, but I can successfully control any number of VST parameters of a VST instrument. Same with insert effects. (I used JavaScript to write my MIDI Remote however.)

1 Like

Really? that’s awesome :+1:
Can you send messages to unselected tracks?

I haven’t tried because I don’t have the need.
I do think it can be done by using banks. @m.c would know for sure.

1 Like

Thank you very much mlindeb :pray:
Does this require you to be an expert in programming? or is knowing a little enough?

Waiting for @m.c response.

Hi, as @mlib just wrote, the MR is based on banks, either when talking about channels or parameters (instrument and fx quick controls).

So, say, we want to control parameter 4, of channel 3. We open the MR mapping assistant after having selected the knob/fader we want to assign it to, go to channel 3 (MixConsole->Channels->Channel 3):

Then we go to Instrument->Parameters->Parameter 4:

And click on the Apply Mapping button.