MIDI Sync Troubles With Q7

Hey all,

So I’m new to the ‘Q’ and have set up about 3 templates for recording so far.

One of them is to transfer my MIDI sequences from my physical sequencer [Roland MC-50 MKii] and record them into Cubase.

I set up individual tracks, and although they’re coming in from one of 2 outputs from the MC-50, I do have the tracks with their own MIDI channel numbers - about 6 tracks.

So they play out of Output #2 of the MC-50, into a Roland UM-550 MIDI interface which is seen by Cubase, as set up a few days ago.

But - when I play the tracks, all of them play across all tracks in Cubase, so they show up, but do not separate into their own channels in the DAW. ie: if I play track 1, all the channels indicate the same MIDI note on/offs; same if I play track 8 - all mirror each other.

Additionally, I cannot get either one [‘Q’ & MC-50] to slave to another, even after much reading in the operation manual and countless attempts of all kinds of different possible settings trying each one as the master and the other as the slave.

I’m by no means a newb, as this is my 3rd DAW now, and have been successful doing this with both my other 2 DAWs, [although one DAW can only be the master] - hence my surprise & subsequent frustration at having no luck at this after hours & hours of trying today.

I have been able to get Sonar to be both slave & master. So I’m quite comfortable with the process.

I’ve also owned this MC-50 sequencer for 17 years, and it has yet to fail, freeze up or die on me.

I’ve been in & out of the Devices Menu & it’s options and again my device is being seen by ‘Q’, but something is obviously a skew.

I jumped from Sonar to ‘Q’ just last month, primarily for the extra MIDI editing options, so I’d really like to get past this first and only stumbling block so far.

Seems like I’m missing something simple & obvious, but I’ve only had ‘Q’ open a half dozen times so far.

Any help would be great.

Thanks in advance,

James