Mixdown louder and clipping

I have a problem I don’t think I had a month ago and it’s driving me nuts. I’m recording a simple mono voiceover peaking at around -6dB to -4dB with all mixer faders set to 0dB. No compression on, no effects, just straightforward audio.

When I play it back in CB9 (or 9.5) it’s just what I want. But when I do a mix down, the result is louder, always it seems by +6dB, and a perfect recording is suddenly clipping regularly and thus useless.

I’m sure I’ve inadvertently changed a setting somewhere along the line but I can’t work out what it might be. I’m a relative newbie to the program and I would appreciate any more experienced users if they could shed any light on this.

Thanks.

Obviously this should not be happening. Usually it’s the other way – that the mix level in Cubase is louder than what is heard on playback of the mix outside of Cubase using some media player program. You might want to put some system specs in your signature to help us understand your problem. Wild guess is there’s some level setting in whatever media player you are using to playback the mix.

Import the mixdown into an empty Cubase project and check your levels.

Stephen,

Thanks for the reply. I have been experimenting with empty projects and getting the same result. Busy for a day or so but will do as you suggest as soon as I can. My computer system specs (what’s needed?) and would the statistics for the “before” and “after” audio be useful too?

What happens if you go in to the audio folder and I have a listen to one of the takes through your media player?

If it’s fine then that tells you it’s something to do with your export settings in cubase.

If it’s clipping then it’s something to do with your media player.

What are your export settings? What are your meter settings? Pan Law? Do you export a stereo bus and use the “make mono” setting?

How are you doing the mixdown? As suggested by svennilenni sounds like you might be doing a mono mixdown.