Mixdown sounds different... Possible gain staging problems?

Hello! I have a mix I’m working on, but when I export it to wav, it sounds a lot weaker. Especially the drums. I’ve been googling and I haven’t found a solution yet.
(Importing the Wav into Cubase and listening to it there also sounds worse, so it’s not my settings in VLC, etc.)

Please bear in mind I’m still fairly new to this. This is my first “serious” project, so now I’m here, making all the mistakes along the way…

One thing I noticed: I have the drums on a group channel, and the meter on that channel goes all the way up, but there is no red clipping indicator on the bottom, so I’ve assumed it was ok. There is also no clipping on the stereo out.
drums

But looking at it now, it seems a bit weird.

Could this be the culprit? I suspect I may have had some big misunderstandings about why and how to gain stage…

don’t mind the reds, it is indeed clipping. can you see the 13.3 reading at the bottom? that’s +13.3dbfs peak.
try having the highest peaks on channels/busses somewhere around -12 to -6 so and master bus peaks no higher than -6db.
this way you will have enough headroom for mastering and if not you can always add a limiter on master bus and add these extra dbs you need.

also mind your gainstaging , and you don’t wanna clip from one plugin to the other.

Thank you. Ok, so even if this is just a group channel for controlling every audio track of individual drums, it will still clip like this?

So if I want to adjust it down, is there a way to do this, but still keep the current balance I have in the mix? I have a lot of tracks, so doing it manually for every track would be very tiresome.

What’s the most sensible way to fix it?

You want the channels not clipping the bus, so you should send lower volume from each channel to it, if that makes sense. Same for any other group channel or master bus.