Mixing italic and roman in lyrics

Unusually - it seems - I am an editor of old music not (usually) a composer of new… When it comes to showing that not all the words were written under all of the notes, I have been used to using italics. Same if an abbreviation is used or - more unusually - a symbol such as ô meaning “nicht” in German. Is this possible in Dorico? I’ve hunted high and low but can’t find anything that will allow me this flexibility. Thanks for any guidance!

Yes: there’s a checkbox for Italic in the Properties panel, when you have a lyric selected. You could alternatively use an Italic font for the Chorus or Translation Font Styles, and set the lyrics in those types of lyric.

Hadn’t spotted that - hadn’t thought to look there, if I’m honest! Great news though - thanks (again!)
Doesn’t quite solve the problem of do-mi-n9 becoming do-mi-nus though… Any ideas for that?

Unfortunately you cannot make only one or two letters of an individual lyric italicised. You’ll have to use Shift+X text in place of a lyric for that.

I’m really intrigued by this shorthand. I’m not really interested in German shortcuts, but can you point me to an example wher domin9 is a thing? I deal with ecclesial Latin quite a bit and the only thing I’ve ever seen (and found it ill-conceived) was “&” for “et”.

I have seen this, in medieval manuscripts. To be honest, as with &, these and other symbols (like X for Christ, or a line over letters for m) are just shorthands, or stylised symbols. There’s no ambiguity in what the word is, so it’s not an editorial choice. And in a scholarly edition, the italic doesn’t tell the reader what was there in its place, without a commentary, which is arguably enough by itself.

I was wondering if these were special ligatures that have fallen out of favor (like æ for instance).

Edit: just did some yahoogling and found this, just in case anyone else finds themselves curious as I was. Scribal abbreviation - Wikipedia