Monitors

I’m an amateur musician looking for speakers for my music room. The room is 30’ by 35’.

I’m using Yamaha MX-49, Cubase Elements, Halion Sonic 2, Steinberg UR44, TCHelicon Harmony GTX, Electro Voice Mc150 mic, Sony Core i7 Laptop , Sennheiser headphones.

My requirements for speakers:

• Absolute minimum of background noise, hum hiss - even at, especially at low volume level
  • Looking for clean, clear. accurate sound
  • Speakers will mostly be used for keyboard practice at low volume.
  • Speakers will also be used with Cubase and Halion for music production.
  • I do want the speakers to have enough power to periodically fill my 30’ by 35’ music room with clean, clear sound at higher volume levels.
  • My budget is $600 max.

Any suggestions for speakers that meet all my requirements.

Note: So far I’m comfortable with and happy with all my equipment. But I have not had much luck figuring out speakers or sound reinforcement.

In your pricerange I would probably go with something like a pair of Yamaha HS7’s or HS8’s.
These are high quality studio monitors and generally well received.
From $400 up noise levels should really not be a problem, no matter which studio monitor you pick.

The problem is that we can suggest tons of monitors, but there is no way of knowing how they will sound in your room untill you try them. It also depends on what you personally like. The best advice I can give you is to buy speakers that you can return if you don’t like their sound after trying them a couple of days.

I use Yamaha H8, pretty good stuff in my setup. this being said, I recommend to listen to different sets first, as Strophoid did. Go to a special store, fire some sets up and select one or two pairs you like. Set them up at your home and try them out again in your room. Return the ones you don’t like.

Good luck!